top of page
Search
  • Alyssa Koh

April SDA: What It Means To Change

I had a lot of problems with this month's SDA which I want to get into. Honestly, even after having finished (late) I'm still unsatisfied, but this SDA breaks into a topic that I find important. However, I spent all month researching game design programs and I couldn't find a way to express all of that knowledge in a way that I found engaging and creative, so I went with as good an option as I could: persuasion. I used the RPI president and the GSAS (game design department acronym at RPI) program as an example of game design programs needing funding and their importance in culture, community, and the job market. I do believe that RPI's GSAS program and its interdisciplinary concentrations are very important, but I wish I had been able to make contact with someone for an interview. I may keep trying to reach out in hope but I have had no luck, so I used the research I had for this SDA.

The most important part of what I learned wasn't exactly about game design, but it was about the future of gaming in education (which is the fact that the approach is changing). No longer are things solely about programming or graphic design as separate things. Game design students are expected to have experience in many different sections that contribute to the game-making process, including marketing skills and writing competency (storytelling being the biggest part of this as a mandatory class for all GSAS undergrads). I think it's a good indicator that the market is expanding and the way we perceive games is extending to that of an art form that isn't just a source of entertainment. It's exciting and I'm hoping I can use some of this knowledge for my coming research on empathy in gaming for a realistic perspective on what all the research means (how it is being implemented in the real world, for instance).

The links I used (which I will add to my bibliography):

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How We Run The Bases: Going Home

EMC, for me, has been a ride. Going into this year was terrifying: last year's Attraction Reaction project went incredibly well, in my opinion. So, how do I top that? How do I keep moving forward? The

How We Run The Bases: Part Two (repost)

Here's the link again: https://www.celtx.com/auth/public/resource/j1u65rdh I'm still working on touching things up and rewriting my transitions and conclusion, thus things aren't super together, but i

How We Run The Bases: Part 1

The plan: - 2 scene storyboards and full outline due by next Wednesday, full script due by that Sunday - I’m going to do a video essay on empathy in the style of Jon Bois. He’s a sports commentator th

©2019 by RPG Psychology. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page