top of page
Search
  • Alyssa Koh

How We Run The Bases: Part 1

The plan:

- 2 scene storyboards and full outline due by next Wednesday, full script due by that Sunday

- I’m going to do a video essay on empathy in the style of Jon Bois. He’s a sports commentator that does informational entertaining videos on things such as the frequency trend of Bobs (yes, the name) in sports.

- Bois’ series Chart Party focuses on visual data being compiled in interesting ways to get across complex points with a lot of meat in them. Am I trying to appeal to Bott with sports influences? Absolutely. Will this work? Hopefully.

- My goal is to talk about empathy in video games in a Bois-like fashion while also drawing some editing inspiration from video essayists like jan Misali (whose video about hangman is a specific influence) and Joseph Anderson, who is a beast when it comes to long-form video essays. I’ll post links to everyone I’ve mentioned below.

- When it comes to tools I will need, I’m thinking that after I script I’m going to record all of my audio into Audacity first and then snag a 7-day free trial of Adobe Premiere Pro. If that doesn’t work, I’ll probably do my best with iMovie, which will mean a lot more physical filming as compared to graphics to keep things interesting.

Jon Bois’ Chart Party: https://youtu.be/lvh6NLqKRfs

jan Misali’s hangman is a weird game: https://youtu.be/le5uGqHKll8

Joseph Anderson’s 4+ hour Witcher critique: https://youtu.be/NtrAx-rVgco


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How We Run The Bases: Going Home

EMC, for me, has been a ride. Going into this year was terrifying: last year's Attraction Reaction project went incredibly well, in my opinion. So, how do I top that? How do I keep moving forward? The

How We Run The Bases: Part Two (repost)

Here's the link again: https://www.celtx.com/auth/public/resource/j1u65rdh I'm still working on touching things up and rewriting my transitions and conclusion, thus things aren't super together, but i

Pulling The Trigger

As of now, I have less than a month to submit my final presentation for EMC. It's heartbreaking and exciting and incredibly bittersweet. I've committed to college and according to Cuomo, there's no tu

©2019 by RPG Psychology. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page