top of page
Search
  • Alyssa Koh

March 26th - SDA Reflection

1. What was different about this SDA?

This SDA was different for me because it was video-based and music-based instead of visual. I tend to like giving out big pieces of information so by using a song I had to keep my information really concise and only elaborate in my written lyric reflection.

2. Overall, how did you manage your time?

I managed my time pretty well when it came to the research and less well when it came to the execution. I gave myself a couple of weeks to do research and write the song but when it came to filming I got so frustrated with making it perfect that I ran late on time and had to turn it in.

3. Which “C” did you focus on or attempt to hit for this assignment?

I definitely focused on creativity for this assignment since it was music-based.

4. Describe how this assignment pushed your thinking

This assignment pushed my thinking because I needed to think of how to most concisely and accurately convey my information without prioritizing one too much higher than the other. I also needed to figure out how to word things to make them easy to sing and make them clear and audible for an audience (even if the words were uncommon)!

5. What new information did you learn?

I learned all about the cognitive behavioral game design model, which was a new concept to me! I knew some of the general information going in but as I researched I realized there were a lot of details (ex/ needing to take into account how puzzles work and motivation and mastery working symbiotically to help a player complete tasks) that I never recognized or thought were important.

6. How do you think this information will contribute to your final product?

The information that I learned is important because it gives me a better idea of why psychology is important for video game production and all of the factors it takes into account in order to make better games.


What is your goal moving forward?

My goal moving forward is to start hunkering down on the empathy part of video game psychology as that is what I plan to talk about for my final symposium presentation!


Chesler, Jessica et al. “The effects of playing Nintendo Wii on depression, sense of belonging and social support in Australian aged care residents: a protocol study of a mixed methods intervention trial.” BMC geriatrics vol. 15 106. 3 Sep. 2015, doi:10.1186/s12877-015-0107-z

Clay, Rebecca A. “Video Game Design and Development.” American Psychological Association, American Psychological Association, Jan. 2012, www.apa.org/gradpsych/2012/01/hot-careers.

David Zendle, Rachel Meyer and Harriet Over. 2019. Adolescents and loot boxes: links with problem gambling and motivations for purchase. R. Soc. open sci.6: 190049. http://doi.org/10.1098/rsos.190049

Park, Gene. “How a Star Wars Video Game Faced Charges That It Was Promoting Gambling.” The Washington Post, WP Company, 18 Nov. 2017, 2:00pm, www.washingtonpost.com/news/comic-riffs/wp/2017/11/18/how-a-star-wars-video-game-faced-charges-that-it-was-promoting-gambling/.

Petrova, Ekaterina, and Netta Gross. “Gaming Statistics: 4 Reasons People Watch Gaming Videos - Think with Google.” Google, Google, June 2017, www.thinkwithgoogle.com/consumer-insights/statistics-youtube-gaming-content/.

Starks, Katryna. “Cognitive Behavioral Game Design: a Unified Model for Designing Serious Games.” Frontiers, Frontiers, 10 Jan. 2014, www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fpsyg.2014.00028/full#h2.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How We Run The Bases: Going Home

EMC, for me, has been a ride. Going into this year was terrifying: last year's Attraction Reaction project went incredibly well, in my opinion. So, how do I top that? How do I keep moving forward? The

How We Run The Bases: Part Two (repost)

Here's the link again: https://www.celtx.com/auth/public/resource/j1u65rdh I'm still working on touching things up and rewriting my transitions and conclusion, thus things aren't super together, but i

How We Run The Bases: Part 1

The plan: - 2 scene storyboards and full outline due by next Wednesday, full script due by that Sunday - I’m going to do a video essay on empathy in the style of Jon Bois. He’s a sports commentator th

©2019 by RPG Psychology. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page