top of page
Search
  • Alyssa Koh

November Journal #3 - Looking to December...

I have chosen my December SDA! Well, actually, I have chosen multiple SDAs to highlight separate sections of the claim that gaming is beneficial to mental growth in adolescents. I plan to do the Infograph-it SDA, an interview, and possibly the Law Maker SDA.

For the Infograph-it, I want to highlight the mental effects of gaming (pros and cons). I plan to do more research into the mental processes that go into decision-making and risk analysis in order to have very direct facts/statistics, and I want to see if there are any experiments or surveys that have been conducted with this topic in mind. I currently have not found anything but I will keep looking through the month! I may also send out a survey at the beginning of December asking people about their gaming habits and why/how they enjoy games to see if there are different social aspects and benefits to gaming I hadn’t thought of initially.

For my interview, I need to prepare questions to ask a fellow EMC-er and the teacher advisor of Model UN. There is a big part of Model UN that is focused on historical roleplaying, which is different from just a re-enactment. I want to explore how gaming concepts have permeated academia and the workplace and I think that an interview centered around an occurrence of that and its benefits would be important.

For my Law Maker portion of the SDA, I would try implementing a school wide change where either classes need to have an aspect of gaming or a class dedicated to it is a requirement. I want to see how that would possibly alter a school environment.

Current Citations:

Davies, Todd. “PDF.” 2007.

Hacco, Shelly, and Jennifer Sung. “THE BOARD GAME MAKES A COMEBACK, AND COLLEGE STUDENTS REJOICE!” USC American Language Institute, 8 Oct. 2018, https://ali.usc.edu/blog/the-board-game-makes-a-comeback-and-college-students-rejoice/.

Pound, Pandora, and Rona Campbell. “Locating and Applying Sociological Theories of Risk-Taking to Develop Public Health Interventions for Adolescents.” Health Sociology Review : the Journal of the Health Section of the Australian Sociological Association, Routledge, 2 Jan. 2015, https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4409085/.

Rahn, Johanna, et al. “Mindset Dynamics in Risk Taking - How Decision Making and Performance Can Profit from Deliberative and Implemental States of Mind.” Zeppelin Universität Friedrichshafen, Semantic Scholar, 8 June 2016, https://pdfs.semanticscholar.org/b5ca/8204bea0c575a7362ea66b699836a5c26c6f.pdf.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How We Run The Bases: Going Home

EMC, for me, has been a ride. Going into this year was terrifying: last year's Attraction Reaction project went incredibly well, in my opinion. So, how do I top that? How do I keep moving forward? The

How We Run The Bases: Part Two (repost)

Here's the link again: https://www.celtx.com/auth/public/resource/j1u65rdh I'm still working on touching things up and rewriting my transitions and conclusion, thus things aren't super together, but i

How We Run The Bases: Part 1

The plan: - 2 scene storyboards and full outline due by next Wednesday, full script due by that Sunday - I’m going to do a video essay on empathy in the style of Jon Bois. He’s a sports commentator th

©2019 by RPG Psychology. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page