top of page
Search
  • Alyssa Koh

Rolling initiative...

Updated: Aug 21, 2019

A new year, a new me.

Normally that phrase is used during the actual new year in January, but I find it fitting. Last year's blogging with my prior topic, the Attraction Reaction, was incredibly fulfilling. You can find both my website and my final presentation (starting around 48:00) in the inline links if you want to check it out! However, this is a new year and a new me. I've traded in love science for lute strings and my research textbooks for a Player's Handbook.


Some questions you might have (that I also have for myself):

Q: What are you doing?

A: Not quite sure yet. The current consensus between me, myself, and I is that this website will be used to document my research concerning the psychology behind role-playing games.


Q: What got you interested in this topic?

A: I have invested a significant amount of hours (probably too many) into a web series called Critical Role, where a group of famous voice actors play Dungeons and Dragons together. Watching their character creation and acting in the scenarios that they face in this make-believe world is incredibly inspiring. That sparked my interest in what could have led each of the players to make and commit to the character they play for hours on end. When I did more reading on different forums including the Dungeons and Dragons subreddit (I know, using Reddit as a citation? You'll have to forgive me.) I came to realize how many different types of players there are in a standard D&D game. Have you ever played a game where you had choices? Why do some people only choose the kindest choices even if it is just a game and there are no real-world consequences? These questions started to make my head spin, so I found it necessary to investigate, and thus! Here we are.


Q: Do you have any prior experience with role-playing games?

A: Only from afar, and that's part of what makes this so interesting. I have no clue what to expect because I have never experienced something like this myself. I have watched people do playthroughs of various video games such as Undertale, which is famous for its multiple endings, and wondered why people chose the paths they did as a playable character.


Q: What made you settle on this topic?

A: Honestly, I have no clue if this is going to be my final topic or not. I have way too many ideas, but I have to choose something to start with, and there's a lot I can cover.


Welcome to RPG Psychology, official title still pending. Who knows what we'll find? It's all up to the dice.


Alyssa

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How We Run The Bases: Part 1

The plan: - 2 scene storyboards and full outline due by next Wednesday, full script due by that Sunday - I’m going to do a video essay on...

Comentários


bottom of page